Relaxer Update: 5 Months Post

Happy Sunday Sweeties!

I finally relaxed after 5 months! Yesterday was relaxer day and I wanted to share my relaxer/texlax experience.

*I use relax and texlax interchangeably because it is the same thing only you use texlax when you don’t relax bone straight.

Like I previously stated, I was 5 months post relaxer. Months ago I cut off all my bone straight ends so my hair is shorter. (See It’s Just Hair)

The relaxer I used was Crème of Nature’s Straight from Eden. It claims to be a healthier way to relax because it is 100% plant derived made with all natural coconut, avocado, and olive oils. (Crème of Nature: Straight from Eden) There’s 2 Types. Type A is for fine, wavy, delicate hair. I purchased type B. It is for normal, thick, resistant hair.

FullSizeRender

This relaxer comes with the 3 part relaxer system, the shampoo, conditioner, and repairing oil.

It took about 35 min from beginning to end to apply the relaxer to my head. My hair is REALLY resistant and kinky so my hair can withstand the relaxer for that long. You will see at the end that my hair still did not get bone straight.

Above is a before picture of my hair 5 months post compared to my hair after I relaxed, shampooed, deep conditioned, and blow dried

Above is a before picture of my hair 5 months post compared to my hair after I relaxed, shampooed, deep conditioned, and blow dried.

After that process, I applied the repairing oil that came in the kit and went through my hair with a flat ironed. I did quick passes so that I wouldn’t get heat damage and so that it wouldn’t be bone straight.

Results: FullSizeRender (1)

My hair is super thick. It still has a lot of texture (texlax results) I did experience some dryness so once I wear my hair out for a week, I will deep condition thoroughly and do a protein treatment to put some strength back into my hair.

Have a blessed Sunday lovelies

Muah!

Leave a Reply

