Wash Day: Co-Washing

Hello lovely people! I hope your week is starting off very well!…I’m off today so you know what that means….blogs!!!

Yesterday was wash day for me so I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to show you what products I use, method, and an update on my hair. The main reason I am going to be doing these kinds of blogs is really for me; to keep up with my hair journey progress.

Firstly, I would like to mention that I am going to be wearing wigs for a protective style all the way until my next relaxer. Let me tell you! I am loving this wig!

I have so many selfies with this wig lol love it!
I have so many selfies with this wig lol love it!
Marilyn the wig head wants her hair back, so I guess I'll give it back lol
Marilyn the wig head wants her hair back, so I guess I’ll give it back lol

Ok enough of the selfies lol…wash day was yesterday! I actually love wash days. It is a great time for a little tlc for my mane!I first did a hot oil treatment with coconut oil, avocado oil, and Herbal oil because I have been experiencing some dryness.I sectioned my hair this time and applied the oil to make sure all of my strands get some oil. I let this sit on my head under a plastic bag for 30 min while I did some cardio to stimulate more heat.

oils for my pre-poo
oils for my hot oil treatment
No need to go buy those fancy heated caps. Just use a grocery bag, tie two scarves/bandanas on top of the bag. Your body will provide the heat!
No need to go buy those fancy heated caps. Just use a grocery bag, tie two scarves/bandanas on top of the bag. Your body will provide the heat!

After a nice workout, I washed my hair with As I Am Co-wash. Co-washing means conditioner wash. Washing your hair with regular shampoo is very drying to your hair. Instead you should wash with a conditioner sometimes. I personally co-wash once or twice a week and wash with a shampoo whenever I feel like my hair is itching more than usual or it needs a deep cleaning.

You can use a regular conditioner or a product that is specifically for co-washing like the As I Am Coconut CoWash shown above.
You can use a regular conditioner or a product that is specifically for co-washing like the As I Am Coconut CoWash shown above.

After, I t-shirt dried my hair and on 50% air dried hair applied my deep conditioner. Again I sectioned my hair so that all of my strands get some deep conditioner on it and let it sit under the plastic bag.  I mixed all the products below and added some coconut oil to make my conditioner.

deep condBefore washing the deep conditioner out I detangled with a wide-tooth comb and then wash out using cold water (Your last wash should be a cold wash. This closes your cuticles and retains the moisture you just put on your hair) . On 80 % air dried hair I added my leave-in and continued to do the *LOC method to retain the moisture. leave in cond

*The LOC Method :    L= leave-in or liquid

O= oil

C= cream (I use Shea Butter)

To end my wash day, I flat twisted my hair because I don’t know how to corn row yet. I will sleep with a satin scarf and continue to wear my wigs!

What are some of the products you use on your wash days??? Do you use any of these products?

Check out my other hair posts to see why I cut my hair and what I am doing to grow healthy, relaxed hair. “It’s Just Hair” and “Wiggin It”

One thought on “Wash Day: Co-Washing”

Leave a Reply

