Homemade Granola Bars

This was my first time making these but I thought it would be simple enough…and it actually is!

I had most of the ingredients already in my kitchen so it was easy to put together. The great thing about this recipe is that you can easily change the ingredients. You may want pumpkin pie spice (what I’m thinking on doing next:) ) , raisins, different kind of nuts, coconut…the combinations are endless.

Ingredients
1 1/4 cup oats
1/2 cup nuts of your choice (I used walnuts)
1/2 cup of peanut butter
hand full of dark chocolate pieces
hand full of dried cranberries
1 Tbs honey
2 dashes of cinnamon

Instructions
At 350 degrees toast oats and nuts for about 10 minutes.

nuts and oats

While that is toasting, melt peanut butter in a bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients to the peanut butter. Next, add toasted nuts and oats to the mixture and mix together very well. Put parchment paper in a pan and add the mixture to the pan. Let set in the refigerater for about 20 min…

With the measurements above it only covered about half of my 7 by 11 baking dish so I made another batch. This time I didn’t toast the nuts/oats and didn’t add chocolate. It resulted in setting more like a crumble or granola which I love just as much as the bars. I will sprinkle this on yogurt and fruit.

If you are going to add or subtract some ingredients, make sure you have enough sticky ingredients so that it will stick together better.

Sooo yummy and not processed like your normal granola bars that you buy from the grocery store. Try it out!

homemade granola

2 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars”

Leave a Reply

