3rd Week Update/Meals???: 30 Day Paleo Challenge

Hmmm how am I doing on this challenge???…

I’ve decided to end the 30 day paleo challenge early. Although I am ending it, I have learned so much about my eating habits and what I can and cannot eat.

Reasons I’m calling it quits:

I believe some challenges are not for everyone and some are not always healthy for you. For me, before I started the challenge I never had huge cravings for junk food. When I did start the challenge, I was having cravings left and right. The point of the challenge was to eat healthier and having these frequent cravings was not beneficial for me. I also believe to have a well balanced diet, that you do need pasta, grains, bread, dairy, and peanut butter–some of the things you cannot eat while on a paleo diet–to a minimum of course!

What I have learned?:

Several pros did come from this challenge.

  1. I learned that I have a gluten and dairy intolerance. I would get extremely bloated when I would eat cereal, wheat bread and pasta, oats, and dairy products. When I started the challenge, the bloating went down tremendously. I was very pleased to learn this. I will limit my intake of these foods.
  2. I am also going to limit my processed foods intake. I will try to think of more meals that contain farm fresh ingredients.
  3. Piling up on veggies really kept me full during the challenge. I will incorporate this into my meals.
  4. I learned some alternatives for ingredients. If I am craving peanut butter, I can use almond butter. If I need milk, I will use almond milk. Thinking about sweets, eat fruit. Protein=a lot of fish, avocados, chicken, bananas, pork
  5. If I am not hungry I don’t need to snack. I think when I was trying to eat 3 meals with snacking at least twice a day, my body got use to snacking; even if I was not hungry. If I am not hungry, I will not snack.
  6. Last, but not least, I learned that I need to eat a larger breakfast to sustain me throughout the day

Overall, this was a great learning experience. I will continue to do different challenges, learn from them, and take what I need from each challenge and incorporate it into my healthy journey. 🙂

Check my previous post “Meal Prep Sunday: What’s for Lunch.” My meals are still healthy, I just have a little bit more flexibility because I am not eating paleo!

Until next time,

Deuces!

 

One thought on “3rd Week Update/Meals???: 30 Day Paleo Challenge”

Leave a Reply

